jumbotron area
Now Accepting Applications
Now Accepting Applications

IMG Academy Headlines

IMG Academy golf program honors 2012/13 award winners at annual year-end ceremony

IMG Academy
The IMG Academy 2012/13 First Team

At the annual year-end awards banquet, the IMG Academy golf program gathered together to honor its student-athletes for all their hard work and dedication to the game of golf during the 2012/13 season. At the event, the golf program announced its award winners on the year.

Maria Garcia-Estrada Memorial Award

2013 winners: Rigel Fernandes and Jordan Lippetz

This award is given to a graduating senior who exemplifies a great spirit and passion for the game. It is awarded to a student who excels in the classroom, in the community as well as on the course. This award honors the memory of Maria Garcia-Estrada who died on September 3, 2005 at the age of 24 from a rare form of cancer. She came to IMG Academy from Tenerife, Spain in 1996 (her sophomore year) and spent three years with the program. As a student-athlete, she was a two-time AJGA All-American and was Valedictorian of her senior class. She went on a full scholarship to Duke and played for the Blue Devils from 1999-2003. She won the ACC Championships as a freshman, as well as receiving Second-Team All-American honors. Maria was a member of Duke's 2002 NCAA Championship team and a member of 4 ACC Championship teams. The Blue Devils won 31 tournaments during her four-year career.

First Team IMG Academy 

An IMG Academy First Team member is a student-athlete that excels at golf and in the classroom. All first team members must carry a 2.75 GPA or better.  Their National Junior Scoreboard ranking, Saturday tournament series ranking and other tournament results weigh heavily in determining First Team Status. The First Team includes:

  • Claudio Correa
  • Rigel Fernandes
  • Jose Montano
  • Jordan Lippetz
  • Vivian Chen

Boys MVP & First Team: Qi Wen Wong

Girls MVP & First Team: Camilla Serrano

Second Team IMG Academy  

An IMG Academy Second Team member is a student-athletes that excels at golf and in the classroom. All second team members must carry a 2.75 GPA or higher.  Their National Junior Golf Scoreboard ranking, Saturday tournament series ranking, and golf course tournament results weigh heavily in determining Second Team status.  This category also strongly looks at the holistic approach these golfers take.  These golfers have excellent attendance, are good leaders and very coachable. The Second Team includes:

  • Hoyeong Kim
  • Diego Schiffino
  • Mario Beltran
  • Brian Lin
  • Hadas Libman
  • James Leadbetter
  • Lisa Unterganschnigg
  • Pedro Junqueira
  • Newport Laparojkit

Honorable Mention               

All Honorable Mention Team members must carry a 3.00 GPA or better. IMG Academy Honorable Mention recognizes student-athletes that are working and striving for excellence in their golf game, and all the areas that make up life at IMG Academy.  They are someone that has seen improvement, and are willing to put in the work to achieve their personal goal of being the best they can be. The Honorable Mentions include:

  • Oak Tangbampensountorn
  • Jacob Lehman
  • Lucas Stuart
  • Jenny Buchanan
  • Estefania Morales
  • Kaelie Jones
  • Daniel Jaramillo
  • Kyotaro Sasaki
  • John Tawastjerna
  • Abelardo Ruiz
  • Jaqueline Bendrick
  • Rodrigo Munoz
  • Billy Zhaou
  • Kelly Hwang
  • Shuhei Takashi
  • Carlos Tercero

14 & Under All-Stars            

These are the future of the Academy and future first teamers.  They include:

  • Brandon Wang
  • Teddy Tetak
  • Guitar Saithip
  • Qi Ming Wong
  • Michelle Yan
  • Vanessa Yan
  • Martin Jaramillio
  • Symba Xu
  • Tyler Carlson

MVP 14 & Under All-Star: Kaito Onishi

Facebook comments
© 1998 - 2014 IMG Academy. - All rights reserved