Click here to chat

IMG Academy Headlines

IMG Academy soccer program celebrates 2012/13 season at annual awards banquet

IMG Academy
L to R: Coach Oscar Pisano, Pablo Aguilar, Martin Rivera, Paul Sime and Director of Soccer Scott Dean, celebrate Paul Sime's Player of the Year award


It was a tremendously successful year on the field for the IMG Academy soccer program’s boys and girls teams. In recognition of the teams’ exploits on the field, the soccer program came together at a special banquet at the IMG Academy Golf Club Tuesday night, May 28.

During the 2012/13 season, the Boys15U team notched an 8-1 record in Club Director’s League (CDL) play for a second place finish; won the Raleigh Showcase Championship; the Boys U16s division of the IMG Cup – Boy’s Invitational; and reached the quarterfinals of the State Cup, and semifinals of the Disney President’s Day Tournament. The U16 Boys brought home a championship at the IMG Cup and finished top of their group at the IMG Cup – College Showcase. Their U19 counterparts were also highly successful, winning the IMG Cup, CDL League and Florida Cup; finishing as runners up in the FPL league; and earned a berth in the finals of the State Cup.

On the girls side, several players earned All-Area Honors from the Bradenton Herald, including Hannah Howell (Player of the Year), Cassandra Ordonez, Megan Peterson and Jenna Steininger. However, the girls program was dominant, with the U17s winning 1st place in the NPL league to qualify for the playoffs in July; finishing 2nd in CDL play; reaching the final-four in the US Club Soccer Florida Cup; and going a combined 7-0-2 in the CASL Showcase, IMG Cup – College Showcase and Triangle Friendlies, scoring 33 goals combined, to only seven against. In U18 competition, the girls were State Cup finalists and finished CDL and FPL play undefeated.

At the annual awards banquet, IMG Academy coaches recognized the following players with top program honors:

Boys Soccer

  • Goalkeeper of the Year – Marco Velez
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Brandon Ordonez
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Raul Gonzalez
  • Player of the Year – Paul Sime

Girls Soccer

  • Goalkeeper of the Year – Sydney McElwain
  • Defensive Player of the Year –Megan Petersen
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Kayla Aritt 
  • Player of the Year – Hannah Howell